Charles University Prague

By | January 15, 2022

Charles University in Prague, first university in the Holy Roman Empire; was founded in 1348 by Charles IV. When King Wenceslas IV changed the constitution of the university in favor of the Bohemian nation in 1409 (Kuttenberg decree), this led to the departure of the masters and scholars of other nationalities (and, among other things, to the establishment of the University of Leipzig). 1654 by Ferdinand III. Merging of the remaining artist faculty with the Jesuit college founded in 1556 (Universitas Carolo-Ferdinandea); 1882 split into a German and a Czech university. This took the name of Charles University (Univerzita Karlova) in 1920on. It was closed in 1939, reopened in 1945 (the German university stopped teaching) and expanded significantly in the following years.

According to findjobdescriptions, today Charles University in Prague has seventeen faculties, including three medical faculties in Prague and one each in Plzeň and one in Hradec Králové, as well as a Catholic, a Hussite and a Protestant theological faculty. With around 50,000 students (2017), Charles University is the largest university in the Czech Republic.

Prague lintel

Prague window lintel, 1st Prague window lintel, name for the storm that developed from a procession on the New Town Hall in Prague on July 30, 1419, during which a Czech judge and 13 Catholic councilors were thrown out of the windows and killed; it was the result of the expulsion of Hussite priests by King Wenceslaus IV and initiated an uprising of the Hussites (Prague Uprising) and the Hussite Wars.

Prague Spring (music)

Prague Spring, Czech Praz ̆ SKE jaro [ pra ʒ skε ː -] music: since 1946 every year in May / June in Prague held Music Festival, which traditionally the day of death B. Smetana (12. 5.) with a festive presentation of the symphonic Seal “My Fatherland” will be opened. In addition to performances of contemporary music, the program focuses on composer anniversaries and others. The festival is accompanied by exhibitions and symposia.

Czechoslovakia (1918-92)

Czechoslovakia, 1918–92 existing state in East Central Europe, with 127 899 km2 and (1992) 15.6 million residents; The capital was Prague.

History: After prolonged efforts for independence from the Czech Republic, which began in 1848, and in 1918 the founding of Czechoslovakia (officially the »Czechoslovak Republic«, Č esko s lovenská R epublika, abbreviation ČSR) from the Austro-Hungarian regions of Bohemia, Moravia, (Austrian) Silesia, Slovakia and some smaller territories. The interests of the minorities – v. a. the German-speaking population, most of whom lived in the northwest, and the Hungarian population, who lived in the border area with Hungary – were hardly taken into account. In the Munich Agreement in 1938, Germany forced the cession of the peripheral areas inhabited by Germans (Sudetenland); In 1939 German troops occupied the remaining area (“Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia”); Slovakia became independent as a »protective state« under German influence. With that, the Czechoslovak state was dissolved.

In 1945 Czechoslovakia was restored. After the Communists came to power (1948), they were based on the Soviet Union and restructured state and economic life along the lines of the Soviet model. In 1949 Czechoslovakia became a member of the Council for Mutual Economic Aid, in 1955 the Warsaw Pact, in 1960 it was renamed the “Czechoslovak Socialist Republic” (Č esko s lovenská S ocialistická R epublika, abbreviation ČSSR).

The liberalization that began in 1968 (“Prague Spring”) under the leadership of party leader Alexander Dubček (1921–92) led to occupation by Warsaw Pact troops in August 1968. In 1989 the population forced far-reaching social transformations through demonstrations, in the course of which the rule of the communist party ended and the writer and civil rights activist Václav Havel was elected president. In 1990 renamed the “Czech and Slovak Federal Republic” (Č eska a S lovenská Federátivní R epublika, abbreviation ČSFR), on January 1, 1993, Czechoslovakia was divided into the two independent states of the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic.

Story addition

In the Seven Years’ War, King Frederick II the Great of Prussia defeated the Austrians under Prince Karl Alexander of Lorraine in the Battle of Prague on May 6, 1757, but had to defeat the city after the defeat at Kolin (June 18, 1757).) abort. – On September 30, 1989, H.-D. Genscher from the balcony of the West German embassy in the Lobkowitz Palace in Prague opened the border to around 7,000 embassy refugees from the GDR, some of whom had been expecting to leave for the Federal Republic of Germany since the beginning of September (German history).

Charles University Prague