Kansas Administrative Regions

By | June 4, 2023

According to babyinger, Kansas is a state located in the Midwestern United States. It is bordered by Nebraska to the north, Missouri to the east, Oklahoma to the south, and Colorado to the west. The state has an area of 82,278 square miles and is the 15th largest state in terms of size. Kansas is home to over 2.9 million people and is known for its vast open spaces, rolling hills, and prairie landscapes.

The geography of Kansas can be divided into three distinct regions: The High Plains in the west which includes much of western Kansas; The Flint Hills which run along a line from north-central Kansas to south-central Kansas; and The Dissected Till Plains which make up eastern Kansas.

The High Plains are characterized by flat topography with some low hills and deep valleys between them. This region experiences moderate temperatures throughout the year with an average annual precipitation of about 22 inches per year.

The Flint Hills region consists of rolling hills that are mostly covered in tallgrass prairie with scattered areas of woodlands throughout. This region experiences hot summers and cold winters with an average annual precipitation of around 27 inches per year.

Finally, The Dissected Till Plains make up most of eastern Kansas and are marked by low hills, plains, valleys and rivers that stretch from north-central Iowa into northern Missouri. This region experiences warm summers and cold winters with an average annual precipitation of about 28 inches per year.

Overall, much of Kansas’s landscape consists of rolling hills covered in tallgrass prairie or farmland along with some rivers running through it all providing a very unique landscape for visitors to explore.

Kansas Administrative Regions

Administrative Regions in Kansas

According to COUNTRYAAH.COM, Kansas is divided into 105 counties, each of which has its own government. The state is further divided into 3,886 townships and 41 districts. There are 628 incorporated cities in Kansas, all of which are governed by their own mayors and city councils. Additionally, the state is home to 19 Native American reservations.

The state capital of Kansas is Topeka, located in Shawnee County in the northeast part of the state. The largest city in Kansas is Wichita, located in Sedgwick County in the south-central part of the state. Other major cities include Overland Park (Johnson County), Kansas City (Wyandotte County), Olathe (Johnson County), Lawrence (Douglas County), and Manhattan (Riley County).

Kansas also has several administrative regions for various purposes such as economic development, police enforcement, and public health services. These include:

• The North Central Region which consists of Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Geary, Jewell, Marshall, Mitchell, Osborne and Washington counties

• The Northeast Region which consists of Atchison Doniphan Leavenworth Jefferson and Nemaha counties

• The Northwest Region which consists of Cheyenne Ellis Gove Graham Logan Ness Phillips Rooks Rush Sheridan Thomas Trego Wallace and Wichita counties

• The South Central Region which consists of Barber Comanche Edwards Finney Ford Gray Greeley Hamilton Harper Haskell Hodgeman Kearny Kingman Kiowa Meade Morton Pawnee Pratt Scott Seward Stafford Stanton Stevens Sumner and Haskell counties

• The Southeast Region which consists of Anderson Coffey Douglas Franklin Lyon Miami Morris Osage Shawnee Wabaunsee Woodson Wyandotte Wilson counties

• The Southwest Region consisting of Barton Big Horn Clark Edwards Ellis Ford Grant Gray Greeley Hamilton Harper Haskell Hodgeman Kearny Kingman Kiowa Meade Morton Pawnee Pratt Scott Seward Stafford Stanton Stevens Sumner Wallace Wichita Wilson Woodson Wyandotte counties

These administrative regions help ensure that local governments are able to provide efficient services to citizens within their respective areas while also helping coordinate efforts between different areas for larger projects such as infrastructure improvements or public health initiatives.

Demographics of Kansas

Kansas is a midwestern state located in the Great Plains region of the United States. As of 2019, the population of Kansas was estimated to be 2,913,314, making it the 34th most populous state in the country. The majority of the population is concentrated in large metropolitan areas such as Wichita and Kansas City.

The racial makeup of Kansas is largely white, which makes up 83.7% of its population. Other major racial groups include African American (6.3%), Hispanic or Latino (8.7%), Native American (2%), Asian (2%) and Pacific Islander (0.1%). The median household income in Kansas is $53,906 and the poverty rate is 11%.

Women make up 50.6% of the population and men make up 49.4%. The median age in Kansas is 36 years old with 26% of people aged 25-44 and 24% aged 45-64 making up most of its population. The largest age group are those under 18 years old who make up 22% of its population followed by those aged 65+ who make up 8%.

When it comes to education levels, 27% have a high school diploma or equivalent while 21% have some college or associate degree and 16% have a bachelor’s degree or higher. Employment status wise, 73% are employed while 14% are unemployed and 13% are not in the labor force at all.

As for religion in Kansas, most people identify as Christian with 54%, followed by those who identify as non-religious at 26%. The remaining 20 percent identify with other religions such as Judaism, Islam and Buddhism among others.

In terms of housing status, 71 percent own their homes while 29 percent rent their homes; this number has been increasing over time due to rising housing costs throughout much of the state’s major cities such as Wichita and Topeka making it difficult for many people to purchase their own home outright without taking out a loan from a bank or other financial institution.

Transportation in Kansas

Kansas is served by an extensive network of highways and interstates that connect its major urban centers. The state is traversed by Interstate 35, which runs north to south, and I-70, which runs east to west. Other major highways include US Route 24, US 56, US 59 and US 160. In addition to these interstates and highways, Kansas has a number of secondary roads that connect towns across the state.

The Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) is responsible for overseeing the maintenance and construction of all public roads in the state. KDOT also operates a number of public transit systems throughout Kansas including buses, trolleys and light rail services. The largest public transit system in the state is the Wichita Transit System which serves over 10 million riders annually.

In addition to public transportation options, many cities in Kansas offer bike-share programs as an alternative form of transportation for commuters. These bike-share programs provide bikes at various locations throughout the city that people can rent for short periods of time at a low cost.

Kansas also has a number of airports located across the state including Wichita Dwight D Eisenhower National Airport (ICT), Salina Regional Airport (SLN), Garden City Regional Airport (GCK) and Manhattan Regional Airport (MHK). These airports offer domestic flights within the United States as well as international flights to locations around the world.

Finally, Amtrak provides passenger rail service throughout Kansas with stations located in Topeka, Lawrence and Newton among other cities offering connections to Chicago, St Louis and Los Angeles among others.