Wyoming Administrative Regions

By | June 4, 2023

According to babyinger, Wyoming is a western U.S. state bordered to the north by Montana, to the east by South Dakota and Nebraska, to the south by Colorado, and to the west by Idaho and Utah. The state has an area of 97,814 square miles making it the tenth largest state in the country. Wyoming is one of only three states with no significant population centers, with most of its population living in small towns and rural areas.

The geography of Wyoming is primarily mountainous with several large mountain ranges including the Grand Tetons in northwest Wyoming, Bighorn Mountains in north-central Wyoming, Wind River Range in west-central Wyoming, and Laramie Mountains in southeast Wyoming. The highest peak in the state is Gannett Peak at an elevation of 13,809 feet above sea level located in the Wind River Range near Pinedale.

The eastern part of Wyoming consists mostly of high plains while much of central and western parts are dominated by sagebrush steppe flats interspersed with rocky mountain ranges. The western part of the state has high desert terrain which includes some sand dunes as well as shale formations known as badlands.

Wyoming also contains several major rivers such as the Platte River which flows through northeast Wyoming into Nebraska; Green River which flows southwest through western Wyoming into Utah; and Snake River which flows through southern Idaho into western Wyoming before continuing into Oregon and Washington State. There are several major lakes throughout Wyoming including Yellowstone Lake located within Yellowstone National Park; Flaming Gorge Reservoir on Green River; Jackson Lake located within Grand Teton National Park; and Glendo Reservoir on North Platte River near Wheatland.

Wyoming Administrative Regions

Administrative Regions in Wyoming

According to COUNTRYAAH.COM, Wyoming is divided into 23 counties and one consolidated city-county, Cheyenne. Each county is headed by an elected board of county commissioners. The state also has several incorporated cities and towns which are governed by elected mayors and city councils.

The largest city in Wyoming is Cheyenne, the capital of the state, with a population of 63,335 according to the 2019 census. Other major cities include Casper with a population of 59,735; Laramie with 32,709; Gillette with 31,541; Rock Springs with 23,882; and Sheridan with 17,845.

Wyoming also has seven Indian reservations which are overseen by the federal Bureau of Indian Affairs. These reservations are home to members of the Arapaho Tribe (Wind River Indian Reservation), Eastern Shoshone Tribe (Wind River Indian Reservation), Northern Arapaho Tribe (Wind River Indian Reservation), Northern Shoshone Tribe (Wind River Indian Reservation), Crow Tribe (Big Horn Reservation), Sioux Tribe (Pine Ridge Reservation) and Ute Tribe (Uintah & Ouray Reservation).

The state is further divided into two metropolitan areas: Cheyenne Metropolitan Statistical Area which includes Laramie County and consists of three counties in southeast Wyoming; and Casper Metropolitan Statistical Area which consists of three counties in central Wyoming including Natrona County where Casper is located.

Additionally, there are several sub-regions in Wyoming including Yellowstone National Park located in northwest Wyoming along the Montana-Wyoming border; Grand Teton National Park located south of Yellowstone National Park near Jackson Hole; Bighorn Mountains located in north central Wyoming near Sheridan; Wind River Range located west central Wyoming near Pinedale; Red Desert located south central Wyoming near Rock Springs; and Great Divide Basin located southwest Wyoming near Rawlins.

Demographics of Wyoming

According to the 2019 estimates from the U.S. Census Bureau, Wyoming’s population was estimated at 579,315 people. The state has an area of 97,818 square miles making it the 10th largest in size in the United States. Wyoming’s population density is 5.9 people per square mile making it one of the least densely populated states in the country.

Wyoming is home to a diverse population with no single racial or ethnic group comprising a majority of the state’s population. The largest racial or ethnic groups are White (84%), American Indian and Alaska Native (3%), Hispanic or Latino (6%), Asian (2%) and Black or African American (2%).

Wyoming is an aging state with over 16% of its population aged 65 years or older, compared to 15% nationally, and only 18% of its population aged 19 years and under, compared to 25% nationally. Additionally, nearly one-third of Wyomingites are foreign-born with 10% being naturalized citizens and 19% non-citizens.

Additionally, Wyoming is one of the most rural states in the nation with over half of its residents living in rural areas outside of metropolitan statistical areas according to 2018 estimates from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Economic Research Service. This compares to only 17% nationally living in rural areas outside metropolitan statistical areas.

In terms of economic activity, Wyoming has a strong mining industry which accounts for nearly half of all jobs in the state according to 2018 estimates from the Bureau of Economic Analysis. Other major industries include agriculture/forestry/fisheries (13%), government (11%) and manufacturing (9%). Additionally, tourism plays an important role in Wyoming’s economy with more than 8 million visitors each year according to 2018 estimates from Tourism Economics LLC.

Transportation in Wyoming

Wyoming is home to a variety of transportation options for residents and visitors alike. The state’s major highways are Interstate 25, Interstate 80, and US Highway 20, all of which connect the state’s major cities and other states. Wyoming also has several state highways, county roads, and local roads that provide access to towns and rural areas within the state.

The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) is responsible for the maintenance of all state-maintained roads in the state. WYDOT also operates a number of expressways including the Wyoming State Expressway System (WSES), which provides access between major cities in the northwestern part of the state and connects with I-25 to Colorado.

In addition to its extensive road network, Wyoming also has an extensive rail system operated by Union Pacific Railroad. This network consists primarily of freight lines but there are also some passenger services available on selected routes including Amtrak’s California Zephyr line which runs through Rawlins, Rock Springs, Laramie, and Cheyenne on its way from Chicago to Emeryville, California.

For those looking for more scenic transportation options or just wanting to avoid traffic congestion on highways or railroads in Wyoming can explore alternative forms of transportation such as air travel or public transportation. The state has several airports including Casper/Natrona County International Airport (CPR) which offers both domestic and international flights as well as smaller regional airports located throughout the state.

Public transportation in Wyoming is provided primarily by bus services operated by Greyhound Lines Inc., Jefferson Lines, Arrow Stage Lines and other companies that provide services between major cities within the state as well as connecting with other states such as Colorado or Utah. Additionally, there are a number of shuttle services that offer door-to-door service from larger cities such as Cheyenne or Casper to smaller towns in rural parts of Wyoming.